writing like those I admire [Pat Thomson]

I really love this post from Pat Thomson from a few months ago, partly because she cares for two books I love: Camera Lucida (Barthes) and The Practice of Everyday Life (de Certeau). But the key point is that the best way to become a better writer is to read with a sense of the craft, not just the content, of the sentences someone’s put together.

patter

That half conscious state between sleeping and waking seems to be the time that I begin to compose a blog post. I often wake up relatively early with a half formed idea. I then work on it idly, gradually waking up, before finally getting up and getting it down.

This post began in exactly this way, with a five am wondering about what my favorite academic books would say about – and to – me. As I started to go through the books I’d put on a very, very short list I realized – and it was one of those kind of Homer Simpson d’oh moments – that the books I most valued were ones which were the kind of work I’d love to do.

So I want to suggest here that it could be helpful to think, more often than I have been doing, not simply about the research…

View original post 815 more words

Leave a Reply

